VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYAPEETH

STUDY MATERIAL SCIENCE CLASS-VI

Date: 11-01-2021 Teacher: Poonam Kumari

Motin and Measurement

Each metre (m) is divided into 100 equal divisions, called **centimetre** (cm). Each centimetre has ten equal divisions, called **millimetre** (mm). Thus

1 m = 100 cm

1 cm = 10 mm

For measuring large distances, metre is not a convenient unit. We define a larger unit of length. It is called **kilometre** (km).

1 km = 1000 m.

Simple multiples of units: Units that are used for the measurement of larger distances are the multiples of SI unit. For example: deca, hecto, kilo.

1 decametre = 10 m

1 hectometre = 100 m

1 kilometre = 1000 m